Arson and Malicious Burning

ArsonMalicious Burning
First Degree: 30 years and/or $50,000 fineFirst Degree: 5 years and/or $5,000 fine
Second Degree: 20 years and/or $30,000 fineSecond Degree: 18 months and/or $500 fine

Maryland Arson and Malicious Burning offenses are set forth in the Criminal Law Article of the Maryland Code, § 6-102, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109 and 110.
6-102: Arson in the first degree    (a) Prohibited. — A person may not willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn:   (1) a dwelling; or   (2) a structure in or on which an individual who is not a participant is present.(b) Penalty. — A person who violates this section is guilty of the felony of arson in the first degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 30 years or a fine not exceeding $ 50,000 or both.(c) Prohibited defense. — It is not a defense to a prosecution under this section that the person owns the property.§ 6-103. Arson in the second degree    (a) Prohibited. — A person may not willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn a structure that belongs to the person or to another.(b) Penalty. — A person who violates this section is guilty of the felony of arson in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 20 years or a fine not exceeding $ 30,000 or both.(c) Prohibited defense. — It is not a defense to a prosecution under this section that the person owns the property.§ 6-104. Malicious burning of personal property in the first degree    (a) Scope of section. — This section applies to a violation involving property damage of $ 1,000 or more.(b) Prohibited. — A person may not willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn the personal property of another.(c) Penalty. — A person who violates this section is guilty of the felony of malicious burning in the first degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or a fine not exceeding $ 5,000 or both.§ 6-105. Malicious burning of personal property in the second degree    (a) Scope of section. — This section applies to a violation involving property damage of less than $ 1,000.(b) Prohibited. — A person may not willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn the personal property of another.(c) Penalty. — A person who violates this section is guilty of the misdemeanor of malicious burning in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 18 months or a fine not exceeding $ 500 or both.

 

Contact a Maryland Arson and Malicious Burning Criminal Defense Attorney from the Law Offices of John Adams if you are seeking a high-powered, relentless criminal defense lawyer to fight aggressively for your defense any felony or misdemeanor criminal charge.