Maryland Sex Crimes Defense Attorney

Rape
(1st Degree)
Rape
(2nd Degree)
imprisonment for life
without parole

or
imprisonment not
exceeding life
20 years
Sexual Offense
(1st Degree)
Sexual Offense
(2nd Degree)
Sexual Offense
(3rd Degree)
Sexual Offense
(4th Degree)
imprisonment
not exceeding life
20 years 10 years 3 years and/or $1,000 fine


Arrested and Charged with a Sex Crime in Maryland?

§ 3-303. Rape in the first degree (a) Prohibited. A person may not: (1) engage in vaginal intercourse with another by force, or the threat of force, without the consent of the other; and (2) (i) employ or display a dangerous weapon, or a physical object that the victim reasonably believes is a dangerous weapon; (ii) suffocate, strangle, disfigure, or inflict serious physical injury on the victim or another in the course of committing the crime; (iii) threaten, or place the victim in fear, that the victim, or an individual known to the victim, imminently will be subject to death, suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement, serious physical injury, or kidnapping; (iv) commit the crime while aided and abetted by another; or (v) commit the crime in connection with a burglary in the first, second, or third degree.

§ 3-304. Rape in the second degree (a) Prohibited. — A person may not engage in vaginal intercourse with another:(1) by force, or the threat of force, without the consent of the other;(2) if the victim is a mentally defective individual, a mentally incapacitated individual, or a physically helpless individual, and the person performing the act knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a mentally defective individual, a mentally incapacitated individual, or a physically helpless individual; or(3) if the victim is under the age of 14 years, and the person performing the act is at least 4 years older than the victim. (b) Age considerations. — A person 18 years of age or older may not violate subsection (a)(1) or (2) of this section involving a child under the age of 13 years.(c) Penalty. (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, a person who violates subsection (a) of this section is guilty of the felony of rape in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 20 years.

§ 3-305. Sexual offense in the first degree (a) Prohibited. A person may not: (1) engage in a sexual act with another by force, or the threat of force, without the consent of the other; and (2) (i) employ or display a dangerous weapon, or a physical object that the victim reasonably believes is a dangerous weapon; (ii) suffocate, strangle, disfigure, or inflict serious physical injury on the victim or another in the course of committing the crime; (iii) threaten, or place the victim in fear, that the victim, or an individual known to the victim, imminently will be subject to death, suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement, serious physical injury, or kidnapping; (iv) commit the crime while aided and abetted by another; or (v) commit the crime in connection with a burglary in the first, second, or third degree.(b) Violation of § 3-503(a)(2) of this title. — A person may not violate subsection (a) of this section while also violating § 3-503(a)(2) of this title involving a victim who is a child under the age of 16 years.(c) Age considerations. — A person 18 years of age or older may not violate subsection (a) of this section involving a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years.(d) Penalty. (1) Except as provided in paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of this subsection, a person who violates subsection (a) of this section is guilty of the felony of sexual offense in the first degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding life.

§ 3-306. Sexual offense in the second degree (a) Prohibited. — A person may not engage in a sexual act with another: (1) by force, or the threat of force, without the consent of the other; (2) if the victim is a mentally defective individual, a mentally incapacitated individual, or a physically helpless individual, and the person performing the sexual act knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a mentally defective individual, a mentally incapacitated individual, or a physically helpless individual; or (3) if the victim is under the age of 14 years, and the person performing the sexual act is at least 4 years older than the victim. (b) Age considerations. — A person 18 years of age or older may not violate subsection (a)(1) or (2) of this section involving a child under the age of 13 years.(c) Penalty. (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, a person who violates this section is guilty of the felony of sexual offense in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 20 years.

§ 3-307. Sexual offense in the third degree (a) Prohibited. — A person may not: (1) (i) engage in sexual contact with another without the consent of the other; and (ii) 1. employ or display a dangerous weapon, or a physical object that the victim reasonably believes is a dangerous weapon; 2. suffocate, strangle, disfigure, or inflict serious physical injury on the victim or another in the course of committing the crime; 3. threaten, or place the victim in fear, that the victim, or an individual known to the victim, imminently will be subject to death, suffocation, strangulation, disfigurement, serious physical injury, or kidnapping; or 4. commit the crime while aided and abetted by another; (2) engage in sexual contact with another if the victim is a mentally defective individual, a mentally incapacitated individual, or a physically helpless individual, and the person performing the act knows or reasonably should know the victim is a mentally defective individual, a mentally incapacitated individual, or a physically helpless individual;(3) engage in sexual contact with another if the victim is under the age of 14 years, and the person performing the sexual contact is at least 4 years older than the victim; (4) engage in a sexual act with another if the victim is 14 or 15 years old, and the person performing the sexual act is at least 21 years old; or (5) engage in vaginal intercourse with another if the victim is 14 or 15 years old, and the person performing the act is at least 21 years old.(b) Penalty. — A person who violates this section is guilty of the felony of sexual offense in the third degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years.

§ 3-308. Sexual offense in the fourth degree (a) “Person in a position of authority” defined. — In this section, “person in a position of authority” (1) means a person who: (i) is at least 21 years old; (ii) is employed as a full-time permanent employee by a public or private preschool, elementary school, or secondary school; and (iii) because of the person’s position or occupation, exercises supervision over a minor who attends the school; and (2) includes a principal, vice principal, teacher, or school counselor at a public or private preschool, elementary school, or secondary school. (b) Prohibited. — A person may not engage in: (1) sexual contact with another without the consent of the other; (2) except as provided in § 3-307(a)(4) of this subtitle, a sexual act with another if the victim is 14 or 15 years old, and the person performing the sexual act is at least 4 years older than the victim; or (3) except as provided in § 3-307(a)(5) of this subtitle, vaginal intercourse with another if the victim is 14 or 15 years old, and the person performing the act is at least 4 years older than the victim. (c) Sexual abuse of a minor student by a person in a position of authority. (1) Except as provided in § 3-307(a)(4) of this subtitle or subsection (b)(2) of this section, a person in a position of authority may not engage in a sexual act or sexual contact with a minor who, at the time of the sexual act or sexual contact, is a student enrolled at a school where the person in a position of authority is employed. (2) Except as provided in § 3-307(a)(5) of this subtitle or subsection (b)(3) of this section, a person in a position of authority may not engage in vaginal intercourse with a minor who, at the time of the vaginal intercourse, is a student enrolled at a school where the person in a position of authority is employed.(d) Penalty. (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, a person who violates this section is guilty of the misdemeanor of sexual offense in the fourth degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $ 1,000 or both. (2) (i) On conviction of a violation of this section, a person who has been convicted on a prior occasion not arising from the same incident of a violation of §§ 3-303 through 3-312 or § 3-315 of this subtitle or § 3-602 of this title is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $ 1,000 or both.

Other sex offenses are set forth in the Criminal Code sections 3-309,3-310,3-311,3-312,3-313,3-314,3-315,3-316,3-317,3-318,3-319,3-320,3-321,3-322,3-323,3-324
Sex crimes such as rape, sexual abuse, child sexual abuse and others are treated with the greatest of hatred by law enforcement and the public at large. If you are arrested and charged with any sex crime, it is crucial that you get legal representation from a Maryland sex crimes defense lawyer without delay. If you don’t have experienced and aggressive legal representation and are convicted of the crime, you face heavy jail time, extensive supervised probation, and being a registered as sex offender, which is made public to anyone who wants to look it up, including your neighbors, possible employers, or others.

Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer in Maryland
On top of the problem of sex offender status, you will be dealing with the penalties that the state has for those who commit crimes of a sexual nature. Many crimes include years in state prison as part of the penalty. At the Law Offices of John Adams we have defended all types of sex crimes, including the following:
• Indecent Exposure
• Public Lewd Acts
• Lewd or Lascivious Acts with a Minor
• Prostitution
• Possession of Child Pornography
• Distribution of Child Pornography
• Sexual Battery
• Sexual Assault
• Rape
• Date Rape
• Spousal Rape
• Forcible Rape
• Statutory Rape
• Peeking Offenses

Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Aggressively Defends Sex Crime Cases
At the Law Offices of John Adams we are extremely experienced in the defense of all types of sex crime cases. The Law Offices of John Adams is aggressive, determined and zealous in their approach to sex crime cases, and will fight relentlessly on behalf of the accused client.

Hire the the Law Offices of John Adams if you or a loved one has been charged with a sex crime and are seeking high quality legal representation that will aggressively fight for your defense.

Comments are closed.